Thursday, January 09, 2014

Pre-Order Limited Edition 50th Anniversary 'The Best of Sonny & Chér' Vinyl

'The Best of Sonny & Chér'
1967's hit album 'The Best of Sonny & Chér' will be reissued on vinyl to celebrate the duo's 50th anniversary.

February 2014 will mark the 50th anniversary of Sonny & Cher's very first single together - February 1964's 'The Letter'. Therefore, record label Friday Music are reissuing the duo's very first "best of" album on 11 February on a limited edition vinyl.

'The Best of Sonny & Chér' was originally released on record label ATCO in August 1967 and became one of the duo's most successful albums, reaching #23 in on the Billboard 200 during a lengthy 64-week chart run. It included most of Sonny & Cher's US hit singles up to that point plus Sonny's solo hit 'Laugh At Me'.

About Sonny & Cher's legacy and the limited edition reissue, Friday Music said, "The legendary Sonny & Cher set the music world on fire in the sixties and beyond with their superstar brand of classic rock and pop music. Their music transcended into all boundaries of popular music with their brand of folk-rock, Phil Spector 'wall of sound'-like productions, and 2-and-a-half-minute symphonies to the ears of millions of people who wanted to hear rock and roll love songs.

Spearheaded both by the multi-talented singer/songwriter and producer Sonny Bono and the grace and voice of his trend-setting fashion model wife Cher, their debut 45 recording of 'I Got You Babe' would prove to become a huge catalyst for things to come for these popular hipsters. They would go on to sell multiple millions of records and albums and have their songs successfully covered by many rock and pop acts over the years like Mott The Hoople, UB40, Chrissie Hynde and Vanilla Fudge.

With a dazzling number of chart-topping singles, a bunch of hit albums, numerous television appearances, a number one television show, successful concert tours and feature movies, Sonny & Cher's ATCO recordings would take the duo to the top of all the popular music charts and would become some of the finest top 40 hits of all time.

Even though the great Sonny Bono is no longer with us, their massive radio airplay and an amazing string of hit records, Sonny & Cher to this day are still revered and loved by their continual growing legion of fans worldwide. 

After delivering a plethora of hits in rapid succession for ATCO Records, the label honored this hugely popular husband and wife team with their incredible greatest hits album simply titled The Best Of Sonny & Cher.

Filled with a treasure trove of chart-topping singles and hit album tracks from their smash albums, this incredible 1967 effort awarded these pop/rock legends with one of the finest greatest hits albums ever released.

All your favorites here, as this 12-track masterpiece is loaded with hit after hit with smash singles like 'What Now My Love', 'The Beat Goes On', 'It's The Little Things', and the song that inspired many people during the turbulent 60's, their number 1 classic 'I Got You Babe'.

As one of the most enduring albums in their massive career catalog, 'The Best Of Sonny & Cher' includes even more significant hit tracks like Sonny's protest rocker 'Laugh At Me', the smash sounds of 'Sing C'est La Vie', 'Just You', and their powerful interpretation of the classic 'Let It Be Me'. 

All in all, a collection of songs which took the fans by storm, forever associating the title superstars to the Sonny & Cher legacy. 

Friday Music is pleased to announce for the very first time ever on audiophile vinyl 'The Best Of Sonny & Cher'. Mastered impeccably from the original ATCO Records tapes by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music Studios and at Capitol Records with Ron McMaster, this amazing classic truly shines in the audiophile vinyl domain."

The tracklist:
Side One:
1. The Beat Goes On (US#6)
2. What Now My Love (US#14)
3. I Got You Babe (US#1)
4. Little Man (US#21)
5. Just You (US#20)
6. Let It Be Me
Side Two:
1. A Beautiful Story (US#53)
2. It's The Little Things (US#50)
3. But You're Mine (US#15)
4. Sing C'est La Vie
5. Laugh At Me (US#10)
6. Living For You (US#87)


  1. I cannot find a FRIDAY MUSIC website! Hmmmmm! That blurb which was posted is so out of touch with the real history of Sonny & Cher that you must wonder if a 28 year old wrote it. Audiophile is nice - they should do ALL the S&C and Cher 60's in audiophile!